Brigham Young University Homepage

Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973

The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 requires Utah employers to provide a safe and healthful workplace, free from recognized hazards that are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employee. The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Division (Utah OSHA) of the Utah Labor Commission, has the primary responsibility for administering the UOSH Act.

EMPLOYEES
• You have the obligation to comply with all workplace safety and health rules established by your employer.
• You have the right to notify your employer or Utah OSHA about workplace hazards. You may ask to keep your name confidential.
• You have the right to request a Utah OSHA inspection if you believe that there are unsafe and unhealthful conditions in your workplace.
• You can file a complaint with Utah OSHA if you feel that your employer has retaliated against you for making safety or health complaints, or for exercising your rights under the UOSH Act. Such whistle-blower complaints must be filed within 30 days.
• You have a right to see all Utah OSHA citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the alleged violation. You may request an informal review of the abatement period granted to the employer.
• You have the right to know your employer is obligated to correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated.
• You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

EMPLOYERS
Reporting Requirements
Employers are required to notify Utah OSHA at (801) 530-6901, within 8 hours of occurrence, of all fatalities, disabling, significant and serious injuries or illnesses to workers. You can call in your report 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Tools, equipment, materials or other evidence that might pertain to the cause of such accident shall not be removed to destroyed until so authorized by Utah OSHA. You are also required to investigate all incidents of worker injuries or occupational illnesses.

Reporting Guidance
"Disabling and serious" includes, but is not limited to any injury or illness resulting in immediate admittance to the hospital, permanent or temporary impairment where part of the body is made functionally useless or is substantially reduced in efficiency and which would require treatment by a medical doctor, such as amputation, fracture, deep cuts, severe burns, electric shock, sight impairment, loss of consciousness, and concussions; illnesses that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency by inhibiting the normal function of a part of the body such as cancer, silicosis, asbestosis, byssinosis, hearing impairment and visual impairment.

Inspections, Citations, and Assessed Penalties
Utah OSHA may enter at reasonable times without delay any work place under its jurisdiction to conduct an inspection, investigation, or interview a reasonable number of employees to determine compliance with the Utah Act, rules and standards. Citations may be issued if an employer is in violation of any of those rules or standards. A serious violation may be assessed a proposed penalty of up to $7,000. Willful or repeated violations may be assessed a proposed penalty up to $70,000. Failure to correct or abate a violation may result in additional penalties not to exceed $7,000 for each day the violation is not corrected.

Contest, Appeals, Informal Review
The Utah Labor Commission will provide an adjudicative formal hearing with its Division of Adjudication, when an employer files a written notice of contest within 30 days of receipt of the citation. Upon expiration of that 30 day period, the citation and proposed penalties are final and not subject to review by any court of agency. Employers may also request an informal review of any citation, proposed penalty or abatement period. Informal reviews do not extend the 30 days in which an employer must file a written notice of contest for a formal hearing.

• To report a workplace fatality or injury, file a workplace safety complaint, or for assistance please call (801) 530-6901 or 1-800-530-5090
• To file a safety complaint online or obtain more information about Utah OSHA programs please visit our website www.uosh.utah.gov
• To obtain more information about safety and health in the workplace, please contact the Consultation Program at (801) 530-6855

State of Utah Labor Commission - Utah Occupational Safety and Health
160 E 300 S, 3rd Floor; PO Box 146650
(801) 530-6800; Fax (801) 530-7606; Toll-Free 1-800-530-5090
Revised 8/12

IMPORTANT CAMPUS TELEPHONE NUMBERS

Equal Opportunity: 1 (801) 422-5895
24-Hour Line: (888) 238-1062
Employee Relations: 1 (801) 422-9065
Risk Management: 1 (801) 378-4468
Campus Security: 1 (801) 422-2222

This poster contains the exact wording of the official government notices obtained from the Utah Labor Commission and the Utah Department of Workforce Services.
BYU Equal Opportunity Office, Updated October 2012

Updated by the HRS Web Team, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT 84602 - Copyright 2008. All Rights Reserved.